Connect with us

Surfing Australia

South Coast quartet shortlisted for Surfing Australia awards | South Coast Register



news, latest-news, russell bierke, owen wright, surfing, sally fitzgibbons, Kurt Nyholm, 2020 Australia Surfing Awards, ulladulla, culburra beach

FOUR of the South Coast’s top surf personalities have been rewarded for their remarkable seasons in and out of the waves, by being shortlisted for the 2020 Australia Surfing Awards. Culburra Beach’s Owen Wright is one of three competitors named in the Male Surfer of the Year category, alongside Jack Robinson and Julian Wilson, while Gerroa’s Sally Fitzgibbons will line up against Stephanie Gilmore and Isabella Nichols in the female category. The third South Coast surfer up for an award is Ulladulla’s Russell Bierke, who will go toe-to-toe with Ollie Dousset and Felicity Palmateer for the Heavy Water Award. Read more: Shoalhaven recognises efforts of it top junior cricketers The former Ulladulla High School student is also in the running for Surf Video of the Year for his work with Andrew Kaineder in Flow State. “Flow State will take you an audio visual journey, as Russ pushes his own boundaries,” Kaineder said. ” Along the way, he gives us insight, into what makes him tick and how the hell his feet stay glued to his board in the most critical of situations.” The final local nominee, who is also from Ulladulla, is Kurt Nyholm, for his work with the Surfers Unite to Fight Suicide campaign. Nyholm will be up against Peter Owens (Fight For The Bight Alliance) and Andrew McKinnon (GWC2020) for the ASB Greater Good Award. Originally slated to be held at the QT Hotel on March 25, the awards ceremony, also incorporating the Hall of Fame, will now be presented in a new exciting television show format for 2020 – due to the Government’s advice in regards to coronavirus. This format will allow Surfing Australia to still celebrate the amazing achievements of their nominees and winners in the coming months. Read more: Maddinson finishes Shield season as leading run-scorer “The awards are a hugely important event on our calendar because they give the Australian surfing community a chance to honour our best, whether it be in the water competing or behind a lens or administration desk,” Surfing Australia CEO Chris Mater said. “And of course, inducting our latest Hall of Fame member is always a massive moment we cherish.” In other news, Glenn Hall, who runs Mirco Surf Academy and mentors Owen and Tyler Wright, is shortlisted against Jack Paterson and Richard Marsh for Coach of the Year.

Source link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *