Connect with us

Jobs Australia

Keir Starmer’s new Labour shadow cabinet LIVE – with Jeremy Corbyn loyalists out



Ed Miliband returns to Labour front bench as Keir Starmer names Shadow Cabinet in full

The former Labour leader is among those names as part of Keir Starmer first Shadow Cabinet.

Ed Miliband today returns to the shadow cabinet for the first time in five years in a reshuffle by Keir Starmer.

The new Labour leader gave the ex-leader his rival Rebecca Long-Bailey’s job of Shadow Business Secretary.

Meanwhile outspoken Windrush and Grenfell campaigner David Lammy is today named Shadow Justice Secretary.

Ms Long-Bailey remains in the shadow cabinet as Shadow Education Secretary.

But there is no job for Jeremy Corbyn and his allies Richard Burgon, Ian Lavery, and Barry Gardiner have all been sacked.

Announcing the full list Mr Starmer, Leader of the Labour Party, said: “I’m proud to have appointed a Shadow Cabinet that showcases the breadth, depth and talents of the Labour Party.

“This is a new team that will be relentlessly focused on acting in the national interest to respond to the coronavirus pandemic and rebuilding Labour so that it can win the next election.”

You can read our full story here.

The positions in the Shadow Cabinet are:

· Keir Starmer, Leader of the Opposition

· Angela Rayner, Deputy Leader and Chair of the Labour Party

· Anneliese Dodds, Shadow Chancellor of the Exchequer

· Lisa Nandy, Shadow Foreign Secretary

· Nick Thomas-Symonds, Shadow Home Secretary

· Rachel Reeves, Shadow Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster

· David Lammy, Shadow Justice Secretary

· John Healey, Shadow Defence Secretary

· Ed Miliband, Shadow Business, Energy and Industrial Secretary

· Emily Thornberry, Shadow International Trade Secretary

· Jonathan Reynolds, Shadow Work and Pensions Secretary

· Jonathan Ashworth, Shadow Secretary of State for Health and Social Care

· Rebecca Long-Bailey, Shadow Education Secretary

· Jo Stevens, Shadow Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

· Bridget Philipson, Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury

· Luke Pollard, Shadow Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Secretary

· Steve Reed, Shadow Communities and Local Government Secretary

· Thangam Debbonaire, Shadow Housing Secretary

· Jim McMahon, Shadow Transport Secretary

· Preet Kaur Gill, Shadow International Development Secretary

· Louise Haigh, Shadow Northern Ireland Secretary (interim)

· Ian Murray, Shadow Scotland Secretary

· Nia Griffith, Shadow Wales Secretary

· Marsha de Cordova, Shadow Women and Equalities Secretary

· Andy McDonald, Shadow Employment Rights and Protections Secretary

· Rosena Allin-Khan, Shadow Minister for Mental Health

· Cat Smith, Shadow Minister for Young People and Voter Engagement

· Lord Falconer, Shadow Attorney General

· Valerie Vaz, Shadow Leader of the House

· Nick Brown, Opposition Chief Whip

· Baroness Smith, Shadow Leader of the Lords

· Lord McAvoy, Lords’ Opposition Chief Whip

Source link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *